Loading Events

The 2021 Literary Awards Contest

The deadline for both Literary Awards and Essay Contest is July 15, 2021

Enter by clicking https://csginc.org/event/2021-literary-awards/

CSG has always encouraged its members to publish.  It has also had the stated goal of “maintaining and elevating genealogical standards.” One means of achieving both these ends has been to hold an annual literary award contest to recognize and reward excellence in genealogical publishing.  The first contest was held in 1987.

Over time the contest has evolved. Currently, awards are given in the categories:

  1. Family history and genealogy
  2. DNA and technology
  3. Resources
  4. Essays and blogs.

1) Thirty-fourth Annual CSG  Literary Awards Contest

Submissions are now being accepted for 2021.

A Grand Prize of $500 is awarded to the overall best publication.
Two First Prizes of $250 each may be awarded for best in each of the remaining two categories.


  • Genealogy & Family History
  • Genealogical Resource
  • DNA & Technology

2) CSG Literary Awards – Tenth Annual Essay Contest
“Tell Me Your Family Story”

Submissions are now being accepted for 2021.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $100.

Essays may include family stories; oral histories; genealogy-related blog entries, excerpts from ancestor’s journal diary; transcriptions of Bible records or cemetery markers; family histories/traditions, and socio-economic background surrounding/affecting an ancestor.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top